Santa Smiles Christmas Caroling At Restaurant Harbor Tower Village Toast to Summer Just in Time Jazz Duo April 2015 Nick on Piano Wild Ferry Ride At Chandler's Square Celebrating THREE YEARS of Just In Time Jazz Duo on Valentine’s Day 2016

Just in Time Jazz Duo

Jazz with Nick & Judy

Feel the love, joy, and fun that shines through the music of this professional duo. Nick & Judy met late January, 2013, and had their first gig, a Sweetheart Dance, on Valentine's Day. Since then, Cupid has been working overtime! They became engaged in March, proving that it's never too late in life to find real love and make dreams come true. September was the time for the "joyful, jazzy" wedding where they promised to make beautiful music on and offstage forever!
Just in Time Jazz Duo 2016
“Nick” Nicholai has been playing piano all his life. By age six, he played pipe organ. He went on to earn a Doctorate in Music from Michigan State University at age eighteen; then decided he would rather perform than teach. After touring with many jazz swing bands, including Louis Armstrong, Paul Desmond, and other big band musicians, Nick made his home base on Whidbey Island, WA in the 70’s. Nick did clinics and concerts for organ dealers many years in the Midwest and was a consultant on the design of the Hammond X66 organ. He has worked as a studio musician and continues to perform throughout the area and to arrange music in his Carousel Recording Studio near Oak Harbor. He is thrilled to have found such an easy-to-work-with and thoroughly capable musical partner!

Judy Sjerven has been singing all her life. After earning a B. A. in Music Education from San Diego State, she taught public school music for several years, conducted church and community choirs four decades, and performed as a soloist. She toured with the Hutchinson Family Singers, a professional quintet that recreated the Civil War Era group in concerts on the East Coast and Midwest. Judy gave 100 performances in Minnesota and the Dakotas of her original one-woman multi-media show “America, This is Your Life!” which combined folksongs with paintings on slides telling American history. Judy has sung folk music with guitar, serious music with orchestras, leading roles in community theater musicals, and now is overjoyed to finally have the opportunity to sing jazz with a great piano player!

Judy also loves to paint landscapes in pastel.  Visit her art website at www.judysjervenart.com.

Let's Fall in Love, Duet

Someone to Watch Over Me (instrumental solo)

What a Difference a Day Makes (Judy)

The Nearness of You (Nick)

Our Love is Here to Stay, Duet

Judy, Nick and sax
  •  Accentuate the Positive
  •  All I Do is Dream of You
  •  All of Me
  •  Almost Like Being in Love
  •  Baby, Its Cold Outside
  •  Blue Skies
  •  Bye Bye Blackbird
  •  Day By Day
  •  Deed I Do
  •  Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  •  Dream a Little Dream of Me
  •  Every Day I Get the Blues
  •  Exactly Like You
  •  From This Moment On
  •  Honeysuckle Rose
  •  How About You
  •  I Can’t Give You Anything But Love
  •  I Didn't Know What Time It Was
  •  I Love Bein' Here With You
  •  I Never Knew
  •  I'm Beginning to See the Light
  •  I'm Going to Sit Right Down...
  •  I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm
  •  I've Got the World on a String
  •  If I Were a Bell
  •  In the Cool, Cool, Cool of the Evening
  •  It Had to Be You
  •  It's a Good Day
  •  Just in Time
  •  Just You, Just Me
  •  L-O-V-E
  •  Let It Snow
  •  Let There Be Love
  •  Let's Fall in Love
  •  Let's Get Away From It All
  •  Life is Just a Bowl of Cherries
  •  Love Walked In
  •  Lullabye of Birdland
  •  Marshmallow World
  •  More
  •  Nice Work If You Can Get It
  •  On A Wonderful Day
  •  Orange Colored Sky
  •  Paper Moon
  •  S’Wonderful
  •  Sleigh Ride
  •  Slow Boat to China
  •  Somebody Loves Me
  •  Sunny Side of the Street
  •  Sway
  •  Taking a Chance on Love
  •  The Glory of Love
  •  There I've Said It Again
  •  They Can't Take That Away From Me
  •  This Can’t Be Love
  •  Too Marvelous for Words
  •  Top of the World
  •  What a Difference a Day Made
  •  When There's a Shine on Your Shoes
  •  Winter Wonderland
  •  Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams
  •  You Brought a New Kind of Love to Me
  •  You Made Me Love You
  •  You Make Me Feel So Young
  •  You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
  •  You're Just in Love
  •  You're the Cream in My Coffee
  •  You've Gotta Have Heart
  •  Zing Went the Strings of My Heart
Judy
  •  A Sunday Kind of Love
  •  As Time Goes By
  •  At Last
  •  Bewitched
  •  Black Coffee
  •  Can’t Help Lovin’ That Man
  •  Coffee Time
  •  Come Rain or Come Shine
  •  Could I Have This Dance
  •  Cry Me a River
  •  Dream
  •  Embraceable You
  •  For Once in My Life
  •  Georgia on My Mind
  •  Give Me the Simple Life
  •  Hallelujah, I Love Him So
  •  Have I Told You Lately
  •  Have I Told You Lately That I Love You
  •  I Ain't Got Nothin' But the Blues
  •  I Thought About You
  •  I Wish You Love
  •  I’ve Got a Crush on You
  •  La Vie En Rose
  •  Love is Here to Stay
  •  Love Me Tender
  •  Moonlight Becomes You
  •  Moonlight In Vermont
  •  More Than You Know
  •  My Romance
  •  Nobody Knows You...
  •  Since I Met You, Baby
  •  Skylark
  •  Someone to Watch Over Me
  •  Somewhere Over the Rainbow
  •  Stormy Weather
  •  Summertime
  •  Tea for Two
  •  That’s All
  •  The Look of Love
  •  The More I See You
  •  The Nearness of You
  •  The Very Thought of You
  •  Till There Was You
  •  Time After Time
  •  Unforgettable
  •  What a Wonderful World
  •  What Are You Doing New Year's?
  •  When I Fall in Love
  •  You Belong to Me
  •  You Belong to My Heart
  •  Young at Heart
  •  Your Mind's on Vacation
Don't miss our performance at the
Lavender Wind Festival July 30th 1:00-2:00!
January 2016
  • Sunday Jan 10, STARBUCKS, ANACORTES   6:00-7:00
  • Friday Jan 15, Josephine Sunset Home, Stanwood   2:30-3:30
  • Sunday Jan 17, Country Meadow Village, Sedro Woolley   2:00-3:00
  • Wednesday Jan 20, Homeplace, Oak Harbor   2:00-3:00
  • Monday Jan 25, Chandlers Square, Anacortes   3:00-4:00
  • Thursday Jan 28, Regency on Whidbey, Oak Harbor   3:00-4:00
February 2016
  • Thursday Feb 11, MOUNT VERNON SENIOR CTR.   11:30-12:30
  • Friday Feb 12, Summerhill Assisted Living, Oak Harbor   5:30-7:30
  • Friday Feb 12, Homeplace, Oak Harbor   2:00-3:00 (Valentine Tea)
  • Saturday Feb 13, Maple Ridge Retirement, Freeland   2:00-3:00
  • Sunday Feb 14, STARBUCKS, ANACORTES   6:00-7:00 (SO SORRY HAD TO CANCEL)
  • Wednesday Feb 17, Homeplace, Oak Harbor   2:00-3:00
  • Friday Feb 19, Josephine Sunset Home, Stanwood   2:30-3:30
  • Monday Feb 29, Chandlers Square, Anacortes   3:00-4:00
March 2016
  • Sunday Mar 13, STARBUCKS, ANACORTES   6:00-7:00
  • Wednesday Mar 16, Homeplace, Oak Harbor   2:00-3:00
  • Friday Mar 18, Josephine Sunset Home, Stanwood   2:30-3:30
  • Sunday Mar 20, Country Meadow Village, Sedro Woolley   2:00-3:00
  • Thursday Mar 24, ANACORTES SENIOR CENTER   11:00-12:00 (Nick plays for Easter luncheon)
  • Friday Mar 25, Homeplace, Oak Harbor   2:00-3:00 (Easter Tea)
  • Monday Mar 28, Chandlers Square, Anacortes   3:00-4:00
April 2016
  • Saturday Apr 09, FOX THEATRE, CENTRALIA   2:00 & 7:00 (We accompany silent film)
  • Friday Apr 15, Josephine Sunset Home, Stanwood   2:30-3:30
  • Wednesday Apr 20, Homeplace, Oak Harbor   2:00-3:00
  • Saturday Apr 23, LINCOLN THEATRE, MOUNT VERNON   TBA (We accompany silent film)
  • Sunday Apr 24, STARBUCKS, ANACORTES   6:00-7:00 (The 4th Sunday is just for this month due to our trip to Centralia.)
  • Monday Apr 25, Chandlers Square, Anacortes   3:00-4:00
  • Saturday Apr 30, THE FARMHOUSE RESTAURANT   Noonish (Private party)
May 2016
  • Thursday May 05, BURLINGTON SR. CENTER   10:30-11:30 (Mother's Day Lunch)
  • Thursday May 05, MOUNT VERNON SENIOR CTR.   12:15-1:15 (Mothers Day Luncheon)
  • Sunday May 08, STARBUCKS, ANACORTES   6:00-7:00
  • Sunday May 15, Country Meadow Village, Sedro Woolley   2:00-3:00
  • Wednesday May 18, Homeplace, Oak Harbor   2:00-3:00
  • Friday May 27, Josephine Sunset Home, Stanwood   2:30-3:30 (Note change from usual Friday)
  • Monday May 30, Chandlers Square, Anacortes   3:00-4:00
June 2016
  • Sunday Jun 12, STARBUCKS, ANACORTES   6:00-7:00
  • Wednesday Jun 15, Homeplace, Oak Harbor   2:00-3:00
  • Thursday Jun 16, ANACORTES SENIOR CENTER   11:00-12:00 (Father's Day Luncheon)
  • Friday Jun 17, Josephine Sunset Home, Stanwood   2:00-3:00
  • Monday Jun 27, Chandlers Square, Anacortes   3:00-4:00
July 2016
  • Friday Jul 01, Josephine Sunset Home, Stanwood   2:30-3:30 (Our regular date will be 1st Friday from now on)
  • Tuesday Jul 05, Homeplace, Oak Harbor   12:00-1:00 (July 4th Celebration Lunch)
  • Sunday Jul 10, RUSTICA CAFE, OAK HARBOR   10:30-1:30 (Sunday Brunch)
  • Sunday Jul 10, STARBUCKS, ANACORTES   6:00-7:00
  • Sunday Jul 17, Country Meadow Village, Sedro Woolley   2:00-3:00
  • Wednesday Jul 20, Homeplace, Oak Harbor   2:00-3:00
  • Monday Jul 25, Chandlers Square, Anacortes   3:00-4:00
  • Saturday Jul 30, LAVENDER WIND FARM FESTIVAL, COUPEVILLE   1:00-2:00
August 2016
  • Friday Aug 05, Josephine Sunset Home, Stanwood   2:30-3:30
  • Sunday Aug 07, RUSTICA CAFE   10:30-1:30
  • Sunday Aug 14, STARBUCKS, ANACORTES   6:00-7:00
  • Wednesday Aug 17, Homeplace, Oak Harbor   2:00-3:00
  • Monday Aug 29, Chandlers Square, Anacortes   3:00-4:00
  • Wednesday Aug 31, CREEKSIDE RETIREMENT, BURLINGTON   6:00-8:00 ( Courtyard Concert Series)
September 2016
  • Friday Sep 02, Josephine Sunset Home, Stanwood   2:30-3:30
  • Sunday Sep 11, STARBUCKS, ANACORTES   6:00-7:00
  • Wednesday Sep 14, Summerhill Assisted Living, Oak Harbor   2:00-3:00
  • Sunday Sep 18, Country Meadow Village, Sedro Woolley   2:00-3:00
  • Wednesday Sep 21, Homeplace, Oak Harbor   2:00-3:00
  • Sunday Sep 25, RUSTICA CAFE   10:30-1:30 (Sunday Brunch)
  • Monday Sep 26, Chandlers Square, Anacortes   3:00-4:00
October 2016
  • Friday Oct 07, Josephine Sunset Home, Stanwood   2:30-3:30
  • Sunday Oct 09, STARBUCKS, ANACORTES   6:00-7:00
  • Thursday Oct 13, BURLINGTON SR. CENTER   10:30-11:30
  • Wednesday Oct 19, Homeplace, Oak Harbor   2:00-3:00
  • Monday Oct 31, Chandlers Square, Anacortes   3:00-4:00
November 2016
  • Friday Nov 04, Josephine Sunset Home, Stanwood   2:30-3:30
  • Sunday Nov 13, STARBUCKS, ANACORTES   6:00-7:00
  • Wednesday Nov 16, Homeplace, Oak Harbor   2:00-3:00
  • Thursday Nov 17, ANACORTES SENIOR CENTER   11:00-12:00 (Nick plays for Thanksgiving luncheon)
  • Sunday Nov 20, Country Meadow Village, Sedro Woolley   2:00-3:00
  • Sunday Nov 27, Marysville United Methodist Church   1:00-2:00 (LAFFS Senior Luncheon)
  • Monday Nov 28, Chandlers Square, Anacortes   3:00-4:00
  • Tuesday Nov 29, OAK HARBOR LIBRARY   2:00-3:00 ("What Makes Jazz Jazz?" program)
Judy and Nick at keyboard
Judy and Nick wedding photo Nick and Judy -- Wedding Photo

To book this inspiring duo, email: jsjerven@comcast.net

Jazzy Wedding Cake Jazzy Wedding Cake